Skip to main content

Publication Details

Four Levels of the Elementary Adaptation to Death

(Original title: Štyri úrovne elementárnej adaptácie na smrť)
Filozofia, 52 (1997), 9, 612-617.
Type of work: Papers
Publication language: Slovak

The author gives an account of human being's attitude towards the phenomenon of death. He distinguishes two basic kinds of mental states concerning death: a) the so called "forgetting about death", and b) conscious acceptance of death. The paper focuses on the former and describes the mechanisms of its building up and maintenance. It is seen as an elementary form of adaptation, which has four elementary levels: physiological, psychological, social and conceptual ones, closely related to each other.

File to download: PDF